Love Languages of Children

This is from Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell, M.D.'s book, "The Five Love Languages of Children." If you do not have it, I highly suggest for you to read it. I will go over each of the Love Languages here. You will be blessed and so will your children. Every child(and person, for that matter) feels love different ways. One child may like it when you give them hugs all the time. Another may need to hear that you love them often. As you parent more than one child, you will soon realize how different they are. And you'll see that with their love language, also. One thing you should ask yourself daily, "Did I fill up my child's love cup?". Children are motivated by behavior. Your children will know and feel how much you love them by how you behave toward them. There are five love languages: Physical Touch, Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Gifts, and Acts of Service. For me personally, I think I require all five. Actually, I believe we all need all five, but determining what will fill their "love cup" the most will be the most effective. 

In my Prayer Binder I have a section for each child. I have written out special information about each of my children.  In the "Postive Parenting" section, I showed you how I have written out the "Power Of Encouragement." Right after that I have their Love Language specified. This is how I keep up with their Love Language:

I. Love Language

Children will sense how you feel about them by how your behave toward them.

1. Physical Touch:

   a. hold while reading

   b. wrestle

   c. games that require touch-football, soccer, basketball

   d. Kiss and hug "Good morning", "Good Night".

   e. Hug "I've missed you's"!

2. Words of Affirmation:

   a. say I love you often

   b. Say I love you , but DO NOT use  "BUT...."

  c. talk about good qualities

  d. catch him doing good

  e. DO NOT yell and scream

    - ask for forgiveness immediately!

3.Quality Time:

  a. Give at least 15 minutes of individual before starting something for self

  b. It's not how long or what you do; it's individual attention

  c. positive eye contact. Regardless of behavior.

         - be pleasant and loving

  d. have a real conversation!

       -parent's history, past experiences, moral & spiritual issues

  e. while reading, talk about events and characters

  f. mealtimes- talk about Bible verses, events of the day, future events

  g. overnight camping- family time and games and hiking

  h. walks together- nature hikes, walks at the park, walks in the neighborhoods

4. Acts of Service:

  1. Do something he can't do for himself.

      - build their skateboard ramp.

      - move ramps

      - fix dirt bike

  2. Serve him, and teach him to serve.

     - teach how to make favorite dinner and serve to family

     - teach how to wash clothes and put others clothes up for courtesy

  3. Help when he asks. ~ Do not be "Too Busy" to stop and help with their needs.

  4. Perform with Passion and Love! ~ Do not grunt or moan or sigh when you do things for them.

5. Gifts

  1. Do not give as a bribe

  2. Use common gift as expression of love ~ Wrap new clothes and unwrap during dinner time

  3. Not all gifts come from a store ~ a rock while on a hike ~ a stick ~ flowers ~ anything handmade

  4. Wrap gift creatively